Travelling Grant to daring director


Director May el-Toukny awarded Nordisk Film Foundation's prestigious travelling grant

Photo: Per Arnesen

When Nordisk Film celebrated its 109th birthday the “Erik Balling’s Travelling Grant” of DKK 50,000 was awarded director May el-Toukhy. Earlier this year she made her feature film debut with the romantic comedy "Long story short" starring among others Trine Dyrholm and Jens Albinus.

"May el-Toukny has a desire to touch, move and enrich her audience with a romantic comedy that feels contemporary, fresh and brave. “Erik Balling’s Travelling Grant” will allow her to travel and gather inspiration and energy to come back and enrich us with more of the same ambition and high quality," the jury states.

Inspiration and creativity
“Erik Balling’s Travelling Grant” was established by Nordic Film Foundation when Nordisk Film celebrated its 100th anniversary in 2006. The scholarship is awarded each year in connection with Nordisk Film's birthday in November and has previously been awarded Lise Nørgaard, Nikolaj Arcel, Susanne Bier and Bent Fabricius-Bjerre.

The price is a travelling grant because Erik Balling along with his colleague Henning Bahs knew that travelling fosters inspiration and creativity. The award winner is selected by a jury appointed by Nordisk Film Foundation. In 2015 the jury consists of film producer René Ezra (Chairman), actress Danica Curcic and screenwriter Maya Ilsøe.

May el-Toukhy graduated from the Danish Film School in 2009. She has made several drama series for DR and made her feature film debut this year with "Long story short" about a group of friends in their 30s and 40s, all of which are struggling with the idea of the perfect life. She is now in the process of developing her second feature film.

"The mission of Nordisk Film Foundation is to promote initiatives that develop film talents. I am proud we can reward the new film talents, which helps to ensure high quality and diversity in Danish film," says Allan Mathson Hansen, CEO of Nordisk Film.

Nordisk Film Foundation supports film talents and promotes good film narrative, and for more than 20 years the Foundation has contributed to the development in the Danish film industry. In 2015 Nordisk Film Foundation has a grant of DKK 4.65 million.

Previous grant recipients:

• 2014: Maya Ilsøe
• 2013: Sisse Graum Jørgensen and Louise Vesth
• 2012: René Ezra and Tomas Radoor
• 2011: Martin Zandvliet
• 2010: Susanne Bier
• 2009: Åke Sandgren
• 2008: Adam Neutsky-Wulff
• 2007: Dan Laustsen
• 2006 (four awards): Nikolaj Arcel, Anders Østergaard, Lise Nørgaard, Bent Fabricius-Bjerre